Camcorders forum

General discussion

Canon VIXIA HV30 -- Importing film to computer

by fiveleafer / November 25, 2010 2:14 PM PST

Purchased HV30 some time ago from a used camcorder shop. Came with camera, carrying case, and firewire cable.

Anyways, I've taken a couple videos, and want to transfer them to my computer. Computer runs Windows 7 x64 in a custom setup, stable overclock at 4.5Ghz with 6G DRAM.
Software for editing is Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 10.0 (trial).

Computer recognizes HV30 when plugged in via firewire to front 1394 port. No other 1394 port is being used. USB connected is mouse and keyboard.

Looking into Control Panel, it recognizes the camera as "Canon VIXIA HV30", and after searching for drivers on the internt (via windows 7 autosearch), it shows as drivers being up to date.

Opening the editing software (or "my computer"), I cannot find the camera. This becomes an issue when telling the editing software where to look for media.

I'm new to this. Help?

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Canon VIXIA HV30 -- Importing film to computer
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Canon VIXIA HV30 -- Importing film to computer
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.