Cameras forum

General discussion

Canon 40D vs. Nikon D80

by argetlam2103 / July 14, 2008 1:45 AM PDT

Hey guys, I'm looking to upgrade from my current ultracompact Nikon S5 to my first dSLR but I'm not sure which direction to go. I like the 40D & the D80 which, IMO, seem to be the two comparable models in their respective lines.

I've handled both of them and prefer certain ergonomic aspects of both (the weight and build of the Nikon, the overall size and LCD of the Canon) but I'm looking for some definitive answers from those who have owned either or both.

I'm not looking to buy one until around Thanksgiving, so I have plenty of time to continue my research. I'd like to keep my total purchase under $1,000 even though that'll pigeon-hole me into being stuck with the kit lens for a while. I don't see this as a major setback though since I'm a novice and won't know any better regardless, lol.

Any help you can send my way would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Canon 40D vs. Nikon D80
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Canon 40D vs. Nikon D80
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.