Windows 7

Question

Can't relocate public folders to external drive - help?

by porthome / March 26, 2013 7:52 AM PDT

I am new to Windows 7, but I think I understand the concept of the virtual libraries. I want to put all my data folders on a separate hard drive, and I want to make some of them public, so I can access from other systems on my home network. I have read up on how to open the properties icon and specify a location. Except when I do this, there is only a window, with the "c:\User\public" path in it, but it can't be edited. There is no "Move" button in the panel, either, as described in numerous items I've googled on the subject. What am I doing wrong?

Maybe I need a pointer to a GOOD writeup on how to manage my data as if I was still in XP?

OS is Win7 Pro.

Thanks for any help

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Can't relocate public folders to external drive - help?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Can't relocate public folders to external drive - help?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.