Audio & Video Software forum

Question

Can Realtek HD Audio be fixed?

by Idaho_Biker / March 26, 2012 11:52 AM PDT

I have a embedded Sound Card [Realtek ALC889] in my Gigabyte MoBo GA-790FXTA-UD5, I'm running Realtek HD Audio.
My 2 Issues are:
1) Installed Realtek Driver Package does NOT give me the Option for my 5.1 Surround Sound System, it does give me 5.1 Surround but it SHOWS their Setup with Side Speakers, and NOT Rear Speakers (Grayed Out) which is what I have, so it doesn't Sound Right, How Can this be corrected??
2) Having another Issue where I can't get my Full 5.1 Surround Speakers to Setup correctly. When I open the Realtek HD Audio and click TEST, it only Plays the Front Speakers, but I can't hear the Sub, Center, and Rear x2 in that Test?? The Speaker System works fine when I go to WMP, and when I play a CD. I'm Stumped (of course I'm still a bit of a Noob on 'puters too, LOL)
Main Speakers:
Logitech Z-5300e Surround THX

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Can Realtek HD Audio be fixed?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Can Realtek HD Audio be fixed?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.