Mac OS forum

General discussion

Can I upgrade os x 10.5.8 to 10.7?

by ritamcbride / December 11, 2011 11:34 PM PST

I have discovered a program I would like to use needs 10.6 or 10.7 to run. I have no knowledge of the different versions and therefore don't know the advantages or disadvantages of upgrading my version.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Can I upgrade os x 10.5.8 to 10.7?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Can I upgrade os x 10.5.8 to 10.7?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
As long as your computer is capable
by mrmacfixit Forum moderator / December 12, 2011 9:00 AM PST

of running 10.6 or 10.7 then yes, you can upgrade it to either one.

Collapse -
Sure about that?
by Jimmy Greystone / December 12, 2011 9:29 AM PST

Sure about that? A quick perusal of Apple's website shows 10.6 retailing for the same $30 now as it has since it was released. Maybe you were thinking of 10.5?

Collapse -
(NT) Ooops, my bad. Thinking 10.5