Linux forum

General discussion

Can i replace Linux with Win7 as primary OS

by nandukamal / March 19, 2013 4:08 AM PDT

Hi All,

I am basically a DBA ,like to perform lots of testing on my personal workstation(Lenovo Laptop). I am currently using Windows 7 and running all Linux machines using virtualbox or vmware. Am not satisified with performance of windows and many times it hangs while using vitural machines.

Is that i can consider replacing Linux as my primary OS in my laptop and run multiple virtual machines.
However, my concern is, whether i can use all other applications like skype etc., as we use in windows for normal media & entertainment stuff

Please suggest

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Can i replace Linux with Win7 as primary OS
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Can i replace Linux with Win7 as primary OS
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Yes you can.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / March 19, 2013 4:16 AM PDT