Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Can I reboot from external hard drive?

by The Riff / August 3, 2007 9:07 PM PDT

I'm just about to reformat my computer but in case I muck it up somehow I want to make a back up of my xp system and save it on my external hard drive. Will I be able to boot my computer from this back up file if it all goes pear shaped and do I need a program like Acronis True Image Home or will windows back up utility do the same thing?

Sorry guys I'm a computer newbie and any help will be greatly appreciated.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Can I reboot from external hard drive?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Can I reboot from external hard drive?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
by MarkFlax Forum moderator / August 3, 2007 9:33 PM PDT