Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

Can I have multiple antivirus software on my computer.

by jeffrey_broadbent / January 22, 2007 3:52 PM PST

OK, I am very new to computers and the only advice I got was from the shop keeper. Thanks to this foram I've learned a great deal. Thankyou. What I have learned so far about security is I can only use one firewall, and I can use multiple anti ad/spy/mal software. Can I use multiple anti-virus software? If I can only use one active program, can I use other software just to do regular scans but have them switched of at other times?
My System:
Notebook, Windows XP home
Norton Anti-virus 2006 paid version, with firewall
Ad Aware free
Windows Defender
My plan is to get rid of Norton, because it hasn't done anything at all. I will download a free firewall. eg Zone Alarm or Comando. I will download some more free Anti spyware software so I will atleast have 3-4. Now I just have to think about Anti-virus. Can I download 2 or 3 anti-virus programs, have one as the active one, and the other just to do regular scans. Thanks. I don't mind paying out some cash, but freebees would be prefered.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Can I have multiple antivirus software on my computer.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Can I have multiple antivirus software on my computer.