Windows Legacy OS forum

Question

Can a 9 yr old computer die? or just the OS?

by sawdustred / March 18, 2013 3:29 AM PDT

I read everywhere that an old computer (HP Pavilion) should be replaced and will eventually die. I also read that you can revive and remove problems if you replace old XP with something newer like Windows 7. And I read that you can revive computer by replacing hard drive/disk.
I am not a techie - can someone provide info on all of the above? Don't want to buy new desk top but have Windows 7 to install if that is the way to go. What started my questions is that (rarely) it will lose connection but also read that could be overheating or simple problems, not too serious and not fatal. Thanks.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Can a 9 yr old computer die? or just the OS?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Can a 9 yr old computer die? or just the OS?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.

All Answers

Collapse -