Camcorders forum

Camcorder Newbie aks for help

by blablabla_297 / July 4, 2013 6:39 AM PDT

I have a few questions about camcorders.
I'm looking for a good camcorder to capture nice moments in my life. Not everything stays the same, and of some scenes and persons I'd like to have a good memory for the rest of my life. My parents had (and still have) an old Chinon video camera and the video's taken by that are very precious possession. But new generation, new camera, especially because the old one can't be replaced/repaired and is necessary to play the old recordings.

I already discovered that a decent camcorder is a bit more expensive than a camera for photos and that the world of camcorders is a bit more daunting. My budget is around (less than) €1.000 ($1.300, £860). I'm an amateur and I'm not planning to buy a new one every few years, so I like a decent one now. I want to film both in outdoor as indoor situations. Most scenes I will film (especially in the first few years) are memories I want to retain, so quality of image is important. I'll also take the cam on holidays and it shouldn't be too big of a hassle.