Camcorders forum

Question

Camcorder for Work in Manufacturing Plant

by budahnbb / October 17, 2012 6:21 AM PDT

I work in a manufacturing plant and we need a new camcorder to record operator processes for our kaizen improvement events.

The requirements I am looking for are:

- Wide angle- The camcorder we currently have forces you to stand 5 feet away from the person and operation you are trying to capture. Now bear with me- I am no optics expert and don't know exactly which affects the viewing But the current camcorder specs are: Aperture 1.8-4.1, focal distance 1.9-76mm, 35mm equivalent 48-1920mm, 16:9 41-1640mm. I do know there are wide-angle lens adapters you can buy for certain camcorders, but would rather buy a camcorder that shoots wide angle to begin with.

- Directional mic, or camcorder with a mic input- The factory isn't terribly loud but we are building things and there is a lot of background noise that comes through on our current recordings

- Long battery life (2-3 hours)

- Full HD-

- Flash memory

- Budget is $300-500

I do not care about:

- The ability to take still images

- Low-light recording

- On-device editing

- LCD screen size or ease of menu features

- Manual image adjustments- It will never leave auto mode...

Thank you for your input & suggestions!!

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Camcorder for Work in Manufacturing Plant
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates