Desktops forum

General discussion

Buying advice for my final computer: laptop, all-in-one desktop, or what?

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) CNET staff/forum admin / October 8, 2010 5:36 AM PDT
Question:

Buying advice for my final computer: laptop, all-in-one desktop, or what?

I am 69 years old and about to retire on a small pension. I have been shopping for "my final computer," with a budget around $2,000. I fancied the aesthetics of an "all-in-one" desktop replacement, but these seem to me to be poor value for the money and not as well-specified as laptop alternatives. I am not keen on the tower replacement with wires everywhere. I am a keen novice photographer/videographer with good equipment and lots of digital pictures and HD video files. I would like to do some editing in my retirement.

My concern with the laptop would be that its life span might be quite limited because of the heat generated in the confined spaces. I am not that familiar with the technical aspects of CPUs, graphic cards, and the latest Intel chips. I wonder if I were to compromise on specifications and go for the aesthetics of the 'all-in-one,' what specifications would your members suggest to meet my photographic and video-editing requirements, without the need for overkill and yet not keep me waiting for ages while the computer is processing large files? Best wishes and thank you!

--Submitted by: Brian C. of Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Here are some featured member answers to get you started, but
please read all the advice and suggestions that our
members have contributed to this question.

Laptops are convenient but... --Submitted by: philb1701
http://forums.cnet.com/7726-7586_102-5004925.html

It all depends... --Submitted by: estefan202
http://forums.cnet.com/7726-7586_102-5005130.html

Last computer? --Submitted by: happy2000usa
http://forums.cnet.com/7726-7586_102-5004974.html

You've put yourself between a rock and a hard space --Submitted by: charleswsheets