Laptops forum

General discussion

Buying a laptop for a Computer Science Bachelors Program

by mlamura2784 / March 16, 2013 2:07 AM PDT

Hey Everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum. As the title states, I need to purchase a laptop for a computer science program. I am looking at some workstation series laptops from HP, Lenovo, and Dell. Here are my main questions:

Which brand is known for reliability and quality control?

Is 8 GB of RAM and a core i7 quad core processor enough to future proof the device for at least 3 years? Are these specs sufficient to run Visual studio pro?

I understand that any major investment is ultimately a personal choice, but I would like some input about these brands. Personal experience with them would be great if you have any. Thanks!

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Buying a laptop for a Computer Science Bachelors Program
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Buying a laptop for a Computer Science Bachelors Program
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.