E-readers forum

Bushwhacking E-Reader

by SomeStudent / October 26, 2012 3:49 AM PDT

I will be travelling abroad to Tanzania next semester: Internet will be almost non-existent, and I probably won't have frequent access to power-outlets. I need to write my Senior Seminar for my History major while I'm there.

My plan is to download a ton of articles and books in PDF format before I leave in January, and carry them with me on an e-reader to do my research. I'll be writing my paper with old-fashioned pencil and notebook.

I've heard about converting PDF files to mobi format to enhance readability on an e-reader. Is this a good option? What's a typical file size?

Lastly, what e-reader should I get? I need one which:

Is portable
Has a long battery life (>3 days)
Has enough storage for... 10,000 pages?
Is cheap. I'm a college student.

So far I'm thinking about the Kobo Wireless E-reader: Looks like I can get one for about $60.

Thanks for your help guys!

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Bushwhacking E-Reader
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Bushwhacking E-Reader
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.