Laptops forum

General discussion

Bluetooth - lost, frustrated, and need help

by elorahd / September 28, 2006 11:51 AM PDT

I'm new to this Bluetooth thing. I thought it would be simple but that's not working out so well. I have a Toshiba Tablet notebook running XP Tablet edition that didn't have built-in bt so I got a usb dongle. I think it's made by Cellink. I wanted bt for this keyboard I wanted to use. So, I first loaded the dongle software. Afaik, everything loaded ok. Then I loaded the keyboard software/driver. When I click on the big orange ball, the keyboard is found. But when I right click on the device and try to pair it, I get an 'Authentication failed' error. It asks for a passcode but it's already got one in there and it won't let me change it (not that I'd know what to change it to if I could). That's as far as I can get. What am I missing?

I doubt anyone has ever used this keyboard but I'll mention it just in case: It's from freedominput.com and it's called the mini-duo. I've been trying to get tech support from them but they evidently don't know what they're talking about. So, I'm not sure if there's an issue with the keyboard or something on the pc or dongle end.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Bluetooth - lost, frustrated, and need help
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Bluetooth - lost, frustrated, and need help