Computer Help forum

General discussion

by fred436` / July 29, 2010 5:20 AM PDT

I have a HP a1640n Media Center 2005 that came with XP that was upgraded to vista home premium. It was set to auto updates when my home page changed by itself, I went to system restore to reset it where I had it, and when it went to restart, all I got was black screen with the mouse cursor showing and it was active, but nothing showing. I'm new to this so any help will be appreciated. PLEASE HELP ME!

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: BLACK SCREEN AFTER USING SYSTEM RECOVERY
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
(NT) Tried Restarting In Safe Mode,Then Run System Restore Again?
by Grif Thomas Forum moderator / July 29, 2010 6:35 AM PDT
Collapse -
What to do...
by Papa Echo / July 29, 2010 8:25 AM PDT

Scan for malware... Reset your homepage. If you are not sure how, let us know which browser you are using.

Collapse -
How To ?