TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

best way to hook up a subwoofer?

by sjps220 / October 28, 2005 5:16 AM PDT

I'm fairly new to the home theatre game and I'm quite confused about subwoofer connection. Do I need a specific subwoofer cable or will a normal RCA do? I've read something that said to use a y adapter with a subwoofer cable? Would that be better than a subwoofer cable alone? Also, I read something from polk audio saying that sub outputs on receivers aren't great and should be avoided?

I don't want to spend a lot of cash, but if someone could describe to me the best way to connect my receiver without spending, say over $40, I would really appreciate it.

My receiver does have a subwoofer out.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: best way to hook up a subwoofer?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: best way to hook up a subwoofer?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
What do you have???