Desktops forum

General discussion

Best desktop under $800

by theonlyremainingscrnname / April 17, 2008 11:00 AM PDT

Looking to buy a desktop under the price of 800 ( but willing to spend a little more to pump up some specs); willing to spend a little of my money after all that hard work for three months (:

I have never used a desktop before, since I've always bought laptops. Despite their portability, I find them lacking in power.

I will be dabbling in video editing so I need huge hard drives as well as a discrete (dedicated) video card. Also a bit of gaming, but not the high powered, intense kind.

I DON'T CARE WHAT BRAND THEY ARE, JUST PLEASE DON'T HAVE ME BUILD IT MYSELF, BECAUSE I WOULD LIKE A WARRANTY WITH THE COMPUTER SHOULD ANYTHING GO WRONG. I ALSO DON'T CARE WHAT TYPE OF PROCESSOR IT HAS (AMD OR INTEL ARE BOTH FINE).

--
I already have my monitor and peripherals picked out. Therefore the computer shouldn't include these.

I decided on a 22" Asus monitor. http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/Se...p;sku=A179-2204

Logitech G51 Speakers.
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/Se...mp;sku=L23-6335

And this wireless mouse/keyboard combo for 35.
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/Se...mp;sku=L23-7048
--

Thanks in advance

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Best desktop under $800
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Best desktop under $800