TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Best configuration for 2 HD TVs and Dish Network HD DVR

by KJSHAN / December 23, 2006 1:33 AM PST

I admit in advance, I am an HD-TV novice. However, I can really appreciate the HD picture when I see it.

We are purchasing a new HD LCD TV for our second floor. Looking at the Sony Bravia in 26" or the Sharp. We have a second TV in the family room downstairs, a Sony WEGA 34" about 2 years old. It has the HDMI interface. I do not believe it is built-in HDTV, because we have always used a cable or dish receiver.

I am interested in knowing if there is a method to setup the Dish Network to enable both TVs to receive the HD channels and view recorded shows. Dish told me to order the 622 dual HD receiver, and use the other HD receiver from them I presently have. The customer service representative was not very technical, so I thought I should do my homework before my installation appointment.

Do I need both receivers?
What is the point of built-in HD on these TVs?
If I have the 622 receiver on one TV, will I be able to pause/record live TV on the second TV?
Will the second TV have lower HD quality reception?

I hope this is not too many questions. Thanks in advance for the help!

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Best configuration for 2 HD TVs and Dish Network HD DVR
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.