PC Applications forum

General discussion

Backup vs. Disk Imaging

by tombauman / January 11, 2011 10:55 AM PST

I am running Windows XP Professional.

I have been backing up my Data and Program files religously for several years.

I recently performed a cold operating system install. When I restored the backups I found that none of my programs ran. I believe this is because they needed to be Installed no copied back to the hard disk. After going through the pain of reinstalling them they run fine.

If I had used a disk imaging program whould this problem have gone away?

I have read several articles on imaging but none address this question.

Any advice or clarification will be appreciated.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Backup vs. Disk Imaging
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Backup vs. Disk Imaging
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
The problem with disk imaging is
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / January 11, 2011 11:19 AM PST