Spyware, Viruses, & Security

Resolved Question

Avast Interferes with FastStone Image View; Help!

by mystierik / February 29, 2012 5:29 AM PST

I updated Avast the other day - and found it royally screwing up another program I rely and depend on: FastStone Image Viewer. Both of these programs have worked together fine for years -- but now suddenly FastStone is crashing every time I try to use it.

FastStone basically loads, usually with a new message saying "Updating Database" (it usually never says that). There's a red line around the program windows - and after a second it crashes. Repeated attempts to open the program yield the exact same results.

I uninstalled both programs and reinstalled them. I installed FastStone first - and found the problem was gone. I reinstalled Avast - and the same issue arose.

Is there a way to fix this? Please explain anything as simply as possible -- I am not good with computers, and don't understand most tech talk.

This seems like a problem on Avast's part. I like Avast - but I like FastStone Image Viewer more. So if there isn't a solution, does anyone know of another free anti-virus service I could try?

mystierik has chosen the best answer to their question. View answer »
Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Avast Interferes with FastStone Image View; Help!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.