Computer Newbies forum

Question

Animation student needs a high-powered laptop for college

by blackestnite / July 1, 2013 4:28 PM PDT

Hello, I am a student about to enter my first year of college, and I need a laptop for 3D modeling as well as animation and video game creation. My university requires a laptop with:

- Intel® Core i7 Processor
-Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
-Minimum 15" screen
-Over 6gb of RAM
-Minimum 2gb Video Memory (dedicated)
-Minimum 512GB - 5400 rpm hard drive
-802.11 b/g compatible

I will be using programs like Autodesk MudBox and Maya as well as Unity3D. I want as much speed and power as possible for a $1000-1500 budget. I'd like to have upgrades beyond the minimum specs, but I am not
entirely sure what is a good value or what is absolutely necessary to upgrade.
Also, this laptop has to last at least two years because of my financial
situation.

I've looked at the Origin EON15-S Pro, but the price is a little high for my current income. I've also looked at the StealthMachine 2300 series, but no one I know has ever heard of that company. I also can not find any reviews of their laptops online. Has anyone owned one of these models? Any other suggestions?

Thank you for your help!

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Animation student needs a high-powered laptop for college
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.