The CNET Lounge forum

General discussion

After years of listening I must say goodbye

by tashman / February 3, 2010 9:09 AM PST

I wanted to voice my opinion and let the buzz crew know that I am no longer going to be listening to the show. I've been a listener for 2 maybe 3 years. Over those years I've listened to the show get less relavent and less useful for me.

It is hard to pinpoint when it started to go downhill but lately the topics you choose to cover and the amount of time that is wasted on covering those topics is just become to much for me to stand. Along with that It seems like the hosts and I like most of them don't seem prepared or while talking about a given subject seem to say things that are completely inaccurate, these go uncorrected in later shows leaving me to believe that either nobody cares or nobody actually finds out that wrong information has been given out.

It isn't entirely your guys fault, I work in IT and by that very nature I'm knowledgable and maybe more informed than your average computer user. I have become more and more upset with the mainstream computing envirnoments using technology to lock people in to devices, systems, etc. You name it big companies are now using technology to entrap and dumb down otherwise smart and intelligent people. I've become more and more interested in companies, individuals and hardware/software that doesn't entrap, doesn't force me into a given way of thinking. In short when I purchase something I own it I'm not renting it and I don't feel the need to have the company I purchased it from continue to be involved in my life, or the use of the device I have purchased. This has led me to one OS, Linux and one way of thinking Open Source. I'm not going to rant on about how great my choice is, I don't think anyone would care. It works for me and that