Computer Newbies

General discussion

advertisements keep popping up even with protection!

by Mr.stephonx / October 18, 2006 10:00 AM PDT

hello, i am a noob in computer and i wish to learn more about how to use and protect my computer properly.

i currently have a problem with the pop-up advertisements. i own a windows 2000 version and i use a high-speed internet modem. recently i keep getting popups, and sometimes programs that "screws up" computer by shutting down all my running programs and hogging my cpu memory. i use AVG(anti-virus)and spybot(ad-killer) that are constantly updated. but the advertisements never seems to stop even though that i have detected and deleted the ad softwares and trojans that are in my computer. can someone plz explain to me why and tell me a way to solve this problem?

Thank you

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: advertisements keep popping up even with protection!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: advertisements keep popping up even with protection!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.