Computer Help forum

Question

Acer Aspire 5251 Stuck on "setup is starting services" HELP?

by Nikii87 / August 31, 2011 2:27 AM PDT

While using my Acer Aspire 5251-1513 the screen went black and it shut down. When I turned it back on, it goes from the Acer screen, to starting windows (windows 7), to "setup is starting services". After about 30 seconds a message window opens stating:
"The computer restarted unexpectedly or encountered an unexpected error. Windows installation can not proceed. To install windows click "OK" to restart the computer, and then restart the installation"
After clicking OK, the computer restarts and goes through the same process, or freezes. I've used F8 at the Acer screen to attempt starting in safe mode with the same result. I did not receive any discs at all with this purchase, Windows 7 had been pre-loaded.
Any help would be greatly appreciated, as a student I can not afford to purchase a new computer at this time, yet it is essential to my success.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Acer Aspire 5251 Stuck on "setup is starting services" HELP?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Acer Aspire 5251 Stuck on "setup is starting services" HELP?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.