Forum Announcement

Welcome to the new CNET Forums! Please don't panic. You are not in the Twilight Zone, you are experiencing the new CNET forums platform! Please click here to read the details. Thanks!!

Tablets

Question

$500 Convertible/Hybrid Tablet suggestions

by ron_il / November 5, 2012 5:38 AM PST

Hi,

I'm looking to buy a tablet with a keyboard for mostly educational needs. As a 2nd year student, I'd like to find a good replacement for writing on notebooks in class. My budget is around $500, keeping the value for money guideline.

I will also use it for web surfing, pdf viewing and office documents editing. Excel editor which support function editing is preffered, as also moderate use of Google SketchUp, Pure Data and MATLAB, although I'm not sure whether those apps are supported on tablets OS.

Android-based or Windows 7/8 based devices which support desktop windows apps is preffered.

These are my main needs:

# A comfortable device to write on using a pen (especially math and somewhat sketch)
# A dedicated keyboard (hidden or detachable) which is physically durable for a normal use
# About 10" display
# Battery time of at least 7 hours without using a Wi-fi
# Any back camera and a microphone is preffered, 3G is preffered but much less important

I'm from Israel buy my parents are in California on the next week. Therefore, recommended stores or even good deals on SF or LA will be appreciated.

I would be grateful for your help!

Thank you,
Ron

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: $500 Convertible/Hybrid Tablet suggestions
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates