The CNET Lounge forum

General discussion

1080i or 720p - Which looks better?

by dougnuts / November 11, 2006 11:47 PM PST

I'm still new to this high-def era and wondered if any of you know from personal experience which looks better. 1080i or 720p? Thanks in advance for your input!

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: 1080i or 720p - Which looks better?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: 1080i or 720p - Which looks better?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Depends on your equipment, Read Wikipedia, CNET Reviews
by Skeeteron_mypeter / November 12, 2006 2:25 AM PST

Your question is valid. I have been an HD owner for over a year and occasionally I find myself doing more reading on the subject as well. I would recommend that you read some Wikipedia information on HD and read some of the product reviews on CNET regarding this equipment.

First take a look at the specifications you are asking about:

P = Progressive Scan
I = Interlaced